The eight existing national or multinational hubs cover Ireland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, as well as Norway, in the EEA.

Each national and multinational hub constitutes a network of organisations active in one or several Member States, to provide specific knowledge of local information environments so as to strengthen the detection and analysis of disinformation campaigns, improve public awareness, and design effective responses for national audiences.

By focusing on emerging digital media vulnerabilities and disinformation campaigns relevant to a specific territory and/or linguistic area, each hub represents a crucial source of knowledge on local information environments.

Together with EDMO the hubs form a European multidisciplinary community gathering academic researchers, fact-checkers, media practitioners, and other relevant actors in order to actively detect, analyze and expose disinformation campaigns across Europe.

Each hub will contribute to:

  • Detecting and analysing disinformation campaigns, as well as producing content to support mainstream and local media and public authorities in exposing harmful disinformation campaigns;
  • Organising media literacy activities at national or multinational level;
  • Providing support to national authorities for the monitoring of online platforms’ policies and the digital media ecosystem.

A new call for EDMO hubs is open until 22nd February 2022. Additional hubs will therefore be established in the course of 2022 in order to expand the reach and geographical coverage of the EDMO network across the EU.

Coordinating institution: Dublin City University
Country covered: Ireland
Consortium partners: Dublin City University; Institute for Future Media; Democracy and Society; The University of Sheffield; Natural Language Processing Group; News Whip; thejournal.ie.

Coordinating institution: Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision
Countries covered: Belgium and Netherlands
Consortium partners: Netherlands Institute for Sound and Vision; University of Amsterdam; Leiden University; KU Leuven; VRT NWS nieuws; Algemeen Nederlands Persbureau BV (ANP); Bellingcat; Textgain; Netwerk Mediawijsheid.

Coordinating institution: Charles University
Countries covered: Slovakia, Czech Republic and Poland
Consortium partners: Charles University, Faculty of Social Sciences; Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU); Demagog.cz; Kempelen Institute of Intelligent Technologies (KInIT), University of St. Cyril and Methodius Slovakia; SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities; Agence France-Presse (AFP); Athens Technology Center (ATC).
Social media: https://twitter.com/CEDMOhub

Coordinating institution: University of Navarra
Countries covered: Spain and Portugal
Consortium partners: University of Navarra; Miguel Hernández University of Elche; University of Valencia; Rey Juan Carlos University; University of Granada; ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon; Carlos III University of Madrid; CEU San Pablo University; Polytechnic University of Madrid; Polytechnic University of Valencia; University of Aveiro; Maldita.es; EFE Verifica; Verificat; Polígrafo; Agência Lusa; Elcano Royal Institute; Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología (FECYT); Barcelone Supercomputing Center (BSC); OberCom; Centro Protocolar de Formação Profissional para Jornalistas  (CENJOR); Associação Literacia para os Media e Jornalismo (ALPMJ).
Social media: https://twitter.com/iberifier

Coordinating institution: Aarhus University, DATALAB – Center for Digital Social Research
Countries covered: Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Finland
Consortium partners: University of Bergen; Faktisk.no; Aarhus University; TjekDet; Helsinki University; Faktabaari; Uppsala University; Källkritikbyrån.
Website: https://datalab.au.dk/nordis
Social media: https://twitter.com/nordishub

Coordinating institution: Vrije University of Brussels
Countries covered: Belgium (Walloon) and Luxembourg
Consortium partners: Vrije University of Brussels – Brussels School of Governance; Université Saint-Louis Bruxelles; UCLouvain Br; RTL; EU DisinfoLab; AFP (Agence France Presse); Athens Technology Center (ATC); Netwerk Mediawijsheid.

Coordinating institution : Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques (FNSP)
Country covered: France
Consortium partners: Sciences Po (Médialab, Liepp, École de Journalisme); Agence France-Presse (AFP); French Media and Information ; Literacy Center (CLEMI); XWiki.
Website: https://defacto-observatoire.fr/xwiki/bin/view/Main/WebHome#une:*
Social Media: https://twitter.com/DEFACTO_UE

Coordinating institution: LUISS Guido Carli
Country covered: Italy
Consortium partners: TIM; NewsGuard; RAI – Radiotelevisione italiana; Pagella Politica; LUISS Guido Carli; Università degli Studi di Roma Tor Vergata; GEDI Gruppo Editoriale S.p.A.; T6 Ecosystems S.r.l.
Website: https://www.idmo.it/
Social media: https://twitter.com/IDMO_it
Contact: contact@idmo.it